The Friendly Funeralista

Giving my boys an extra hug today

Posted on: February 8, 2010

My other full-time job is that of “Goalie Mom”.  I have two boys, 10 years apart in age, and both are goalies for their hockey teams.  Our eldest is in grade 11 and we have just begun our discussions about his post secondary plans.  The hope, of course, is that hockey might take him to a university or college in the States on scholarship.  He plays for his school team and a Junior team.  Our little guy, is playing his first year of rep hockey, and is more interested in the camaraderie in the dressing room, the great looking uniforms and the post game snack.  That said, I spend a great deal of my time eating arena popcorn and chugging back the extra-large double doubles from Tim Hortons. I know a lot more about hockey than I like to admit and grumble endlessly about the constant ferrying of kids to arenas — the truth is, however, that I love it and I love the life lessons that the game teaches me, my husband and our boys.

The game taught us a tough life lesson on Friday, when it was reported that the son of Toronto Maple Leafs General Manager, Brian Burke, lost his son in a fatal car accident in Indiana.  Brendan was just 21 years old, student manager of the Miami Red-Hawks NCAA hockey team, with plans to study law.  He was driving in a terrible snowstorm on his way to the arena when his car slid into an oncoming vehicle.   How the Burke’s will get through this is beyond me.  What I do know, is that they will never recover completely but will endure. I know that the hockey community has rushed to support this family in their grief.   I wonder if the game and the hockey community and culture will give them some respite as they face the “new normal” of living without their son.  I hope so.  If I thought it would help, I would send a bottomless bag of stale arena popcorn and a vat of Timmies.    Both my boys are on the ice tonight, and I thank God for it. 

Here is a link an article from the Toronto Star reporting the accident:

http://www.thestar.co

Tags:

3 Responses to "Giving my boys an extra hug today"

Wow, I couldn’t even think of what that family is going to go through…this is why they say to make each day count….you never know when something like this could happen. My heart goes out to them.
Great reading by the way, you have some interesting stories.
All the best,
Jen

Oh by the way I have added a your link to my blog page, I like your writing…its interesting.
Jen

Thanks so much for visiting and posting my blog on your roll. I will reciprocate as soon as I figure out how to do it!
Best,
Kate

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Archives

