The Friendly Funeralista

My Funk Buster

Posted on: March 16, 2010

 I’m feeling a little flat today.  Frankly, I’m wallowing in self-pity mourning the absence of my son who is enjoying a trip abroad to play rugby this March break.  I needed a little pick-me-up and it occurred to me that maybe you might need a formula for breaking out of a funk today, too.  So here goes …

1.  Listen to Stevie Wonder sing “Isn’t She Lovely”.  It brings to mind a picture of my youngest brother dancing to this tune.  He loves to laugh and to dance and Stevie always helps him get his “groove on”.  I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like this song! 

2.  Play Stevie again and go to the kitchen and scrub out your kitchen sink.  Put some muscle into it and make it shine.  Not sure why this lifts my spirits, but it does.

3.  Go outside.  The weather is beautiful here in Toronto and a brisk walk around the block never fails to give me a lift.

Let me know if this works for you.  Meanwhile, I’ll be scrubbing my sink.

2 Responses to "My Funk Buster"

Scrub away….I’ll be dancing to old 80’s rock tunes! 🙂

Barbara, your comments always chase the blues. Thanks for being such a devoted reader! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Archives

